Song of the Morning [Rough/Complete]

The following is the first 11 stanza section of a character’s perspective in my next novel manuscript. I plan to have three different parts that are 33 stanzas of 10 lines each and are divided into 11 stanza subsections. The spacing doesn’t translate to formatting here very well, so just keep in mind that 5 rhyming couplets makes up a stanza. I wrote the following in a little over a week in a pocket notepad during my spare moments.

First silver-gray hints steal in through the window pane. 

Dull thuds and thumps of rising labors wake the brain,

As world comes new to I who sing its growing song 

Swaddled in blankets— morning child of rosy dawn

In name, not hue; the clouds allow no faint pastel.

Ubs Rosarum, as a scholar’s heady words might tell.

The bitten crescent apple on the shelf a tale,

An artifact of time told in the dark then pale,

Then dark again, not marked by numbers’ butchery,

But told in song and rhyme and magic reverie.   

Out of the cocoon of sleep— down pale feet, off sheet!

Soles find weathered boards, bones hang from cords in meat.

Cast curtain back, bask on the wondrous avian perch

To spy the early workers as they stride and lurch

Still half sleeping in bright colors of rough-hand trade 

With percussion boots in fleeting nocturnal shade.   

Lines hang between windows, like a spider’s snare

That catches shirts and trousers suspended in air. 

Cheery gargoyle withdraw from your beloved seat

Don coveralls and place your own boots on your feet. 

Cool water from the sink, brief blink into the mirror, 

A small courtesy to any who might see her. 

Dark, tired brown eyes that bear no crease of care

And greet each morning under tousled, shiny hair

Of tiger’s-eye gleaming— diamond in the rough,

As Urbs Rosarum is, I’m made of tougher stuff

Than one can see upon a fleet bird’s dancing glance.  

A pot of coffee boils to break the sleep-drunk trance. 

Silver sky turns steel-fire with the hidden sunrise, 

As shadows melt and purpose starts to crystalize.   

Down, down to the street, thermos hanging at my side

A hot, metallic missile jangling as I glide   

Past two steps at a time in haste but not to moil,

For the journey there is worth more than common toil,

To see the urban spine, heart, hands and fingernails,

The hard-eyed yet soft inside engine that travails

To keep this teeming city dangling from it’s thread,

Swollen, tired beyond its time, and beset by dread

That it may fail the charge of refuge in a time

When to turn away the desperate seems a crime.

Urbs Rosarum, the bulwark of our failing coast,

The emerald valley blessed to play the gracious host

To a new trail of tears driven northward by drought,

Fires, bloodlust, quakes and floods in numbers beyond count,

Some speaking tongues thought lost to faded history

And those freshly lost themselves to the chemistry

That steeps the streets and pools inert with waiting gleam

For one false step, poor luck, a youthful broken dream,

And like a fly in syrup you submerge down, down

Two steps at a time to struggle, limpen, then drown.   

I turn the mind to happier things on the walk

To Lincoln Street Station in blooming hope to talk

To someone on the train and be the world’s cheery 

Eyes and ears and voice, the mirror of itself as me

Within itself along with someone new to be

The partner in this dance of life with life so free

And easy when you understand that your only

Calling is to make another soul less lonely.

Be kind to me, oh city. I play a foolish part.

Perhaps you’ll humor me and will not break my heart. 

I take the orange line north and the red line east, 

Changing trains at Pioneer Place, another long beast 

Bearing blue and white and whining through the angles

Of the urban grid amid the morning tangles 

Of bicycles and electric cars, as the drones 

Hover ever over with everyone on phones 

Around me. I’ve never understood, although

I was born in it and ought to thirst for the glow.

But one must be the eyes and ears and voice, the mirror

When all other gazes are cast down, I am the seer. 

Once on the red line, I spy my hapless victim

In the back, a young man alone and looking prim

In his collared shirt and tie, a gently furrowed brow 

Of concentration above an anodyne scowl.

He’s absorbed in work that’s taking all his focus,

And he does not notice when I approach his locus

With a sly smile and take a seat across the aisle

To watch him furiously tap and type a while.

He sees me once, with a glance perhaps mistaken

That a strange girl gives him a feline, devious grin.     

This town’s full of a staid and unadventurous 

Type of women like librarians, serious

With cloying public morals and yet no sweetness

And no genuine love for life or simple bliss

In being part of the mess they claim protector 

Status over while they seem content to lecture

The ones who have to live among it every day

And must be kind because they know no other way. 

But let’s not make this song my catty means to sneer

At all the other kinds of women who live here.

To tell the truth, I’ve always rather talked to men 

Because they have a simple manner of open

Conversation where things mean what they mean without

Too much linguistic mysticism to cause doubt 

That what is said is said and nothing more remains 

Unspoken yet assumed to make it to your brain.

Before I’m called a traitor to the fairer sex,

I love my dear mother, and she never expects 

An eerie telepathic bond of woman-mind

Assumed commonly by some others of our kind. 

He steals a glance at me again for the briefest

Flash while I’m lost in thought, and I decide it’s best

To pester him directly and end the silent 

Swinging dance of heads and eyes and show my talent 

For unwanted conversation wherein I tend

To win the person over and with charm amend

The unnatural awkwardness of my invasion

Into their calm oasis of introversion.

I cannot claim success with everyone I’ve met, 

But at least this morning’s song will be a duet. 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started